Robotron:2084 x New Order

Sometimes I wish it was 1983.

Do you ever rediscover something, and bask in the glory of the old becoming new? It’s like listening to New Order’s Power, Corruption, and Lies for the first time in 10 years, and then suddenly it makes it’s way to your OnTheGo playlist because it destroys everything you’ve been listening to lately.

This is exactly how I feel about Robotron:2084.

My 2nd favorite game of all time (after Symphony of the Night, of course) has been available for me to play every day for the last 3 years because I work at the company that produced this motherfucking torture machine 26 years ago. We have a cabinet right up front, and lately I’ve been journeying up there, being mesmerized by the control scheme (TWO JOYSTICKS?!) and frantic nature of the game.

It still holds up after all these years.

I’m stealing this cabinet and bringing it into my office, seriously. Because some asshole in the Purchasing department has the Top Score, and I can’t be having any of that.

Oh and cop this album and give it a listen again:

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • RSS twitter!

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • flickr!

    Feijoada in Los Angeles?

    Jul 20, 2009

    Jul 20, 2009

    Jun 25, 2009

    More Photos